Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

April 22, 2010

This week I decided to feature my brother Eugene Davis.

I am thankful for my brother, but to be completely honest I didn’t want a brother I wanted a sister. My parents made me wait 11yrs for a sibling and I felt I was entitled for that sibling to be the gender of my choice.

When I found out I was going to have a brother it took some time for me to come to terms with it, but when I was 18 and my brother was seven he won me over through the art of persuasion.

One day my brother wanted me to take him and his friends some where and of course me being the older sister that I was I didn’t want to. He then told me how I was the best sister in the world and that he would buy me something with his allowance and believe it or not that is all it took.  I was hooked by his art of persuasion and ever since then I’ve made it a point to try to live up to the title he gave me when he was seven “best sister in the world”.

I am thankful for my brother…thankful that he was able to break down the tough facade I put up as a tween/teenager.  If he didn’t I would never have been able to see first hand how he grew up to be a sweet, kind-hearted, generous young man.

My brother turns 21 on the 24th.

Happy Birthday Eugene!!

From → Sister

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

